Satisfaction down to the fingertips

trimmed fingernailsBefore I had my son I used to feel satisfied if I had a good meal, or saw a good movie or were on the right side of an argument. I also used to take profound satisfaction in watching synchronicities show up. Now I feel the same profound satisfaction (if not more…) when I manage to cut my 2 y.o.’s fingernails. I have to show him a movie to make him sit still. Even so, he thrashes and pulls at times and scares me with a sudden gesture… I’m always afraid of cutting a whole finger. The whole ordeal takes about 10 minutes (fingers and toes) at the end of which I feel I have lived that day well on this Earth. Full of love. And profoundly satisfied, down to the fingertips.

Leave a Reply

