Dropping the old, tight worry shoes

old shoesFor me there’s no better definition for “relief” than this: what you feel when you take off shoes that are too tight.

I am teaching today. I have a group of pre-schoolers and another one of pre-teens. I worry that they won’t pay attention, or that they will be rude or… or…

I worry and it feels like I’m walking in shoes that are too tight.

I’ve been doing this worry dance for a long time now. I worry about everything. But in a blessed moment, when I manage to stop it, it feels like taking off the too-tight shoes. Aaaaaaaaah…

Could I maybe try on ideas and feelings to see if they are too tight before I decide to take them home? Now THAT’s a thought that feels very good.

Leave a Reply

