Permission to be happy

Give yourself permission to be happy
Give yourself permission to be happy!

Sometimes it feels like we are waiting for someone to give us permission to be happy.

I don’t know about you, but when I was little it felt like I wasn’t allowed to feel good when others were not. And there were a lot of them. I’ve seen a lot of suffering and pain (still do) and somewhere along the way I’ve picked up the message “How can I dare feel happy when they are not?”

The thing is, many of those unhappy people actually wanted me to be happy. For example, my parents suffered a lot – but they wanted me not to.

So, come to think of it, I joined the unhappy ranks out of loyalty and because it seemed like the only way to stay connected to those I loved.

It has taken me many years to realize that I am always connected to those I love, no matter what their state – and I can be happy at the same time, even if they are not. Why does it have to be one or the other?!

Permission – granted.

C.M.

Leave a Reply

