The Tranquility Corner: How to calm your spirit and attract peace

lake-983926_640It works. It really, really works. I am still amazed but… have I said it? It works!

Around 3 o’clock this afternoon I was gearing up for a very difficult class with a bunch of rowdy pre-teens. If you don’t believe me, get this: two weeks ago, before I came to class, they wrote “CACA” on the board – and drew it too. I’ve been dreading going there for a while now and have seriously considered quitting. But I’ve decided to finish the trimester. That meant, as of 3 o’clock this afternoon, three more sessions.

I parked the car and got out like Marie Antoinette going to have her head chopped off. And then I thought… wait a minute, I know what to do. I didn’t really think it would work but hey… it was worth a try.

So I asked myself this: “What would I like to feel instead of this icky, awful anxiety?” The answer was: “Peace.”

Yeah, right… I was as far away as possible from peace.

But I continued (it pays to have a method!) – I asked myself another question: “What, in my environment, captures the feeling of peace?” I looked around at the buildings, the cars, the roofs and the clouds. And then I stumbled on a tree. For me, trees are the most peaceful beings on the planet.

I focused on the tree. “Oh, tree, you don’t have to teach, you don’t have to perform, you don’t have to… anything.” For a few seconds and no more than that, I bathed myself in the feeling of peace that the tree radiated.

And then… marvel of marvels! I had the best class since the beginning of the year!! It worked!!!

Alright… I’ll stop with the exclamation points. But really… I am still amazed that it worked.

I’ve discovered a while ago that it is not necessary to change my feelings ABOUT a subject. All I have to do is capture whatever I want to feel… wherever I can: in nature, in other people, in the past, in the future, in outer space… It doesn’t even have to be remotely related to the subjet that’s bothering me. In fact, the more I manage to let go of it, the better it turns out.

So if you are going through any turmoil at the moment or you simply need a break, I am inviting you to the Tranquility Corner. Sit on the bench and revel in the tree, the lake and the autumn.

And may your day be peaceful and good.

C.M. Ellis

Leave a Reply

