It’s okay to take care of yourself, say no and go your own way. Letter to my teen self.

teenage girl feet sneakers jeansToday I happened to read a question posted on a forum by a 15 y.o. girl. She said, “I feel depressed and probably anxious most of the time. How should I deal with my feelings? “

It resonated very deeply with me because at one time I was a depressed, anxious teenage girl. There were problems at home… a lot of them actually and this was the reason for my depression. I did not know how to deal with any of it – most of all my feelings. I felt like I was drowning in them and I was forever doomed to suffer.

What I would like to say to my teen self – and the 15 y.o. who posted the question – is this:

Your problems have more to do with other people than with yourself. It’s okay to take care of yourself, even if they are not. It’s okay to say no, too. Most importantly, it’s okay to go your own way. You don’t have to play dumb or stupid or please anybody with your choices. Your life is your own and feeling good is a choice. Look around for the good people, the good books, the good music, the good weather and the good things happening every day. There will come one day when you will be on your own. You will grow a lot and it won’t always be easy. But I can say with 100% certainty that everything will turn out okay. In the meantime, just take good care of yourself and try to feel good (at least a little bit) about something every day. In time, this will grow into a whole life of good.

Love,

C.M.

Leave a Reply

