Optimism: not buying into any “I can’t”.

optimism

Isn’t this picture awesome? I love the expression on the duck’s face… which is entirely my own interpretation, as ducks don’t really “make faces” or have expressions. But I like to imagine that from the gesture you can actually feel the “energy” of the feeling that animates it – it’s fun, it’s playful, it’s pure optimism that doesn’t give a rip about “But what if I can’t do it?” or “What if I fail?”. Go duck! I need to put this picture over my writing table… and my teaching table… and my cooking table… and… and…

Here’s one good feelings exercise to try:

Go to Google or any other search engine and type in “bird”. Look at the pictures that show up – and try to name the feelings that those images evoke in you. You will be flooded with freedom, joy, fun, playfulness…

Sunny skies,

Christine

Leave a Reply

