The breadcrumbs trail, miracles, and cool dreams – or how my subconscious and I are becoming friends

I’ve been in the spiritual/self-help/manifestation/LawofAttraction/self-development waters for years. More like decades in fact – about two, to be more precise.

And what do I have to show for it?

Well, a day like yesterday actually…

Nowadays I am publishing my own books and trying to learn as much as I can about the publishing business. So I listen to and watch a lot of stuff on the internet, mostly free and usually while I iron. It makes ironing clothes fun – and I’m learning a lot.

So yesterday I was watching a session from a free summit on entrepreneurship, with a lady who is a publicist and works a lot with authors.

As “fate” would have it, she said jokingly that most authors who are in the self-help arena and come to her do so with with request: “I want to be the next Gabby Bernstein”.

I have to admit, I had never heard of Gabby Bernstein.

But something about what was said resonated with me, so I looked her up. She is a leader in the self-development world and an all-around cool person.

I watched a couple of videos of hers on YouTube and I heard something that knocked my socks off. She was talking about people who feel the calling to serve and contribute and live authentic lives, who are having difficulty with finding their way. She advised asking:

“What miracles do you want me to be a part of today? Show me the way!”

These are not her exact words, I am paraphrasing. But her message struck a chord deep down in me.

She is a follower of “A Course in Miracles”, of which I have heard but never actually read. I do believe in the idea that miracles are actually the norm though – and that if they don’t occur (in the form of synchronicities, “coincidences” and flow), then something’s gone wrong.

I had never thought of allowing Life to lead me, by asking to be shown what miracles I could be a part of, every single day!

I had a sort of glow for the rest of the day. I always get it when an idea goes, with very strong emotion, straight to my core. I had the impression of getting pushed forward and shedding doubts, fears and insecurity in one second.

But the “miracles” didn’t stop there.

Last night I had one of the COOLEST dreams I have ever had in my life. It doesn’t top the one in which I actually killed myself, didn’t die, “re-incarnated” and talked to God afterwards, but it came really close.

I dreamed that Mika, the singer, was my writing coach.

To you, it may not seem like a big deal but to me, it rocked my world – again!

Perhaps I should give you a bit of background: I am watching “The Voice” – France almost every week. Mika is a judge on that show. I knew his music but I had never heard him speak in an interview, let alone see him “live”. Over the course of months – and now years – I have seen him interact with creative people from all walks of life, who come to sing but who get his coaching about authenticity, sincerity, generosity and allowing themselves to break out of their shell, not only vocal techniques.

It is one of my joyful forms of entertainment – and learning. It really, truly feeds my soul.

It may seem trivial, but it is not.

Just as there are no small miracles, there are no small situations to have miracles in.

So Mika, in my dream, was my writing coach. And he was telling me those things, just like he is saying them to those people – but applied to ME!

About how my writing is about authenticity and sincerity, which cut down the fear because they are expressions of love. For people, for the world and for the sheer joy of expressing myself.

Yes. WOW.

That was the trail of breadcrumbs that, in a day, shifted my world and performed miracles (yes, plural!) in my psyche.

And you know how they say that affirmations don’t work if your subconscious is not on board with them… well… for years I had felt that my subconscious was keeping me imprisoned, so to speak. I had no idea how to make it my friend.

In fact, I still don’t know. But it seems that, unknowingly, I have stumbled onto something.

Here’s Mika and here is Gabby Bernstein.

Christine

To subscribe to The Art of Feeling Good for more articles like this one:

 

Leave a Reply

